CWIC & CW TEC 2020 - Book now!

Tickets for both conferences are 3 for 2, email for more information

Ofcom awards four new community radio licences

Press Release published by Ofcom, under Radio Technologies

Ofcom has today announced the award of four new community radio licences in England, Scotland and Wales.

The new stations will serve communities in Shaftesbury, Dorset in England; Shotts in Lanarkshire, Scotland; Merthyr Tydfil in South Wales; and Towyn, Conwy, in North Wales.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest.

More than 290 community radio stations are currently on air.

The four new community radio licences have been awarded to:

Alfred (Alfred Radio Limited), Shaftesbury

Contact name: Keri Jones


Alfred will be run by volunteers and is aimed at older listeners. It will provide a service for the community of Shaftesbury and he surrounding rural area.

Listen Lanarkshire (Getting Better Together Limited), Shotts in Lanarkshire

Contact name: Iain Whyte


Listen Lanarkshire will work with local partners including schools, youth groups and sports clubs. It will serve the ex-mining communities of Shotts and surrounding villages.

Merthyr Radio (The 3Gs Development Trust), Merthyr Tydfil County Borough

Contact name: Melvyn Jones


Merthyr Radio will focus on life in the Merthyr area and will work with local businesses. It will provide an inclusive local radio service for people in the Merthyr Tydfil County Borough area.

Sound Radio (Sound Radio Limited), Towyn, Kimmel Bay, Abergele and Rhyl

Contact name: Craig Kennealey


Sound Radio will run a locally-focussed service which will include some Welsh language programmes. It is for the communities of Kinmel Bay & Towyn, Abergele, Rhyl and surrounding towns and villages in the Vale of Clwyd.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period. A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the licences above can be found on the Ofcom website.


1. In addition to the licence awards detailed above, Ofcom considered two further applications, but decided not to award a licence to the following:

  • Pulse Radio (Glan Clwyd AM Ltd), Rhyl and Prestatyn, Denbighshire
  • Voice of the Community (Clwyd Community Broadcasting Ltd), St Asaph, Denbighshire

Ofcom decided not to consider applications from the following:

  • Phase Radio (Wales), Prestatyn, Meliden, Rhuddlan and Rhyl, Denbighshire
  • ME2U Community Radio, Croydon

Subscribe to the CW newsletter

This site uses cookies.

We use cookies to help us to improve our site and they enable us to deliver the best possible service and customer experience. By clicking accept or continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our cookies policy. Learn more

Start typing and press enter or the magnifying glass to search

Sign up to our newsletter
Stay in touch with CW

Choosing to join an existing organisation means that you'll need to be approved before your registration is complete. You'll be notified by email when your request has been accepted.

Your password must be at least 8 characters long and contain at least 1 uppercase character, 1 lowercase character and at least 1 number.

I would like to subscribe to

Select at least one option*